Southeast Nebraska Emergency Management Group Regional Governance Board

MINUTES – Regular Meeting

Draft April 5, 2018

Thayer County – Hebron Nebraska

Call to Order

Chairman Gregg Goebel called the regular meeting of the Southeast Regional Emergency Management Governance Board to order at 5:30 pm on April 5, 2018 at the Stastny Community Center in Hebron NE. The meeting was held prior to the Pipeline Exercise with Tall Grass Energy, coordinated by Thayer County. Chairman Goebel noted that the meeting was being held in compliance with the Nebraska Open Meetings Act.

Board members present were Bill McPherson, (Thayer County), Colt Ferringer (Thayer Co Deputy), John McKee (Jefferson/Saline Counties), Jim Dunker (Fillmore County), Sandy Weyers (Cass County), Roseann Dobesh-DeGraff (Cass County Deputy), Gary Petersen (Seward/York County), Jim Davidsaver (Lancaster County), Mark Hosking (Lancaster County Deputy), Greg Goebel (Otoe County), Steve Cody (Otoe County Deputy). Tylene Windle (Richardson County Deputy), Amanda Burki (Johnson/Pawnee).and Lisa Wiegand (Gage County).

Others present for training were: Kate Lang ((Public Health Solutions), Richard Acuna (Thayer County Health Services), Terry Blas (Jefferson County Hwy Dept), Doug Brandt (Daykin Fire), Dave Bruning (Thayer County Commissioner), Trevor Brunow (Alexandria Fire), Cory Clark (Carleton Fire Rescue), Ricke Dageforde (Thayer County Commissioner, Kaye Eickman (Thayer County Sheriff's Dept), Jason Eyer (Jefferson County Highway Dept), Mike Finke (Deshler Fire), Travis Harris (Enbridge), Kyle Hintz (Belvidere Fire), Hal Hockersmith (Deshler Fire), Brad Jarchow (Black Hills Energy), Donovan Knigge (Davenport Fire), TJ Kripal (NDOT), Dean Krueger (Thayer County Commissioner), Steve Krupicka (Deshler Fire), Wayne Kugel (Hebron Fire), Lindsey Messman (Thayer County Health), Mike Moritz (NWS-Hastings), Kenny Morris (Tallgrass Energy), Merle Noel (Fillmore County Supervisor), Tiffany Nutsch (Desler Fire), Vicki Ozenbaugh (Ohiowa Rescue), Lori Pahl (Deshler Fire), Berdon Pederson, (Davenport Fire). Eric Reinsch (Black Hills Energy), Joel Reinke (Davenport Fire), Bill Riggs (Chester Fire), Mark Schoenrock (Jefferson County Commissioner), Travis Schweer (Brunning Fire), Nancy VanCleef (Carleton Rescue), Diane Vorderstrasse (Alexandria Rescue), Mark Sullivan (Seward Co Deputy), Kevin Rahe (Red Cross), Robert Bomberger (Tallgrass Energy), Randy Waldmieier (Belvidere Fire), Evan Skiles (Alexandria Fire), Rex Mussman (Ohiowa Fire), Jennifer Czekai (Deshler Rustler, Media), Nancy McGill (Hebron, Media), Greg Richardson (Chester Fire), David Lee (Hebron Sheriff), George Gerdes (TCRD Superintendent).

Introduction

Chairman Gregg welcomed everyone and duly noted that the meeting was properly advertised and that meeting will follow the Nebraska Open Meetings Act.

Approval of Agenda

Motion was made by Amanda Berki; seconded by Mark Hosking to approve the agenda. Motion was approved by all present.

Approval of Minutes

Minutes from the March 1 meeting were presented. Mark Hosking made motion to approve; second by Sandy Weyers. Motion approved by all present.

Financial Report 2016/2017/2018 Grant Funding and Work Plan:

Mark Hosking updated the Board on the grant funding which included:

0 " " " 10

2016 – Land Leases, NRIN Projects, 300/400 Trainings, Jefferson County Application, Salamander Training and the Board workshop.

2017 – Tower leases, Land Leases, Salamander Training, Mobile Apps, NRIN, Salamander Supplies, Card Printers and mobile apps, THIRA and Citizen Corp MRC.

2018 – Updated us on the \$2,500 available and the need to host IMC-Operating Logistics class and exercise.

2019 – Discussion on purchasing additional vests.

Funding Requests & Claims:

<u>Card Printers for Pawnee/Otoe and Thayer County</u> - Mark Hosking made motion to approve; seconded by J.McKee, Voting aye were Gage, Jefferson/Saline, Lancaster, Otoe, Fillmore, Seward/York, Richardson and Cass; Thayer and Pawnee/Otoe abstains.. Motion passed.

NRIN mileage on repairs reimbursed, requested by Fillmore County – Mark Hosking made motion to approve reimbursement of \$286.55 for mileage; seconded by Amanda Burki, Voting aye were Gage, Jefferson/Saline, Lancaster, Otoe, Seward/York, Richardson, Cass; Thayer and Pawnee/Otoe. Fillmore abstains. Motion passed.

<u>Wilber Tower Lease</u> – Motion made by Bill Peterson to approve the payment of \$500 for tower lease; seconded by Jim Dunker. Voting aye were Gage, Lancaster, Otoe, Seward/York, Richardson, Cass; Thayer and Pawnee/Otoe. Jefferson/ Saline abstains. Motion passed.

Committee/Board Reports – Executive Board

State meets on April 12, with Jim Davidsaver representing SE Region.

Committee/Board Reports – Communications

Nothing to report

Committee/Board Reports - Exercise/Planning/Training

All Hazards training has space still available for training Working group 1600 – Bomb tech training was reported on.

Committee/Board Reports – State Update-NEMA/Public Policy Center

Nothing to report

Committee/Board Reports – SE Health Care Coalition Update

Roseann reported information sent by Stephanie, the HCC Cordinator, to be shared with the group.

Committee/Board Reports – Fusion Center Update

Nothing to report

Board & Public Comment

Sandy Weyers and Mark Hosking discussed issues with the Bomb Squad and further research done on funding for training. They will report at next meeting

Set Time, Date, and Location for next meeting

The board scheduled the next meeting for Thursday, May 3, 2018at the Gage County Emergency Management Office, Beatrice, NE.

Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the board, a motion to adjourn was made by Sandy Weyers; seconded by Mark Hosking; Motion was approved by all present.

Meal and Training on Pipeline Explosion followed the meeting